girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Goals for July June 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 10:45 am

The past year has been pretty crazy – going back to school, going into debt, not making much money, and not knowing what the future holds.

Starting 01 July, I am going to get back on track! I’ve begun applying for jobs in Chicago, and I will be there for a few days next week to look at some apartments in person.

Here are my goals for July:
*Sign a lease in Chicago to start 01 August
*Find a job in Chicago
*Track all income and spending (I’ve gotten really bad about not doing this!)
*Make a plan for organizing that tracking – since I no longer use Wesabe, I need to find a new method
*Don’t buy things unless absolutely necessary!

I had to buy a new cell phone this week, and bought an iPhone 3Gs. Since the new iPhones are out, the old ones were on close out. Until this week I had never accessed the internet from a phone or had a phone capable of downloading apps. If anyone has suggestions for a budgeting/tracking app (preferably a free one!) that I should check out, please let me know!

 

3 Responses to “Goals for July”

  1. Carlin Says:

    Personally I’m a huge fan of Mint (http://www.mint.com/) for tracking my finances. And while I’ve never used it I know they have an app available. Although I’m not impressed with the budgeting aspect of Mint. For that I maintain a spreadsheet in google docs which is something you may or may not be able to use on the iPhone.

  2. Auntie Karin Says:

    I was going to recomment you look at the FREE online version of Quicken. I looked around for it and found that Quicken now owns Mint. They have a free iPhone App. I haven’t used it, but may take a look. I have an 3G iPhone recently upgraded to the iOS 4.

    Here’s info on Mint’s app:
    http://www.mint.com/features/iphone/

  3. Definitely if you use mint.com the iPhone app is quite honestly just like the website & just as easy to use. Pageonce Bills is also a great free app that will keep track of most of your bills with push notifications… If you search expense in the app store that should give you the variety your looking for. I know it’s October and the lease has been signed, but none-the-less, good luck in Chi-town…

    nextdoorfinance.wordpress.com, I would love some pointers if willing?


Leave a Reply

