girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Chicago! June 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 9:22 am

I’ve been thinking about this nonstop for the past couple of weeks, and I’m now 99% sure I’ll be moving to Chicago next month (or early August). And by 99% sure I mean, barring some crazy unforeseen circumstances, I will be in living Chicago within 2 months!

I’m not sure yet what this will mean from a personal finance perspective. It definitely means a lot of great job opportunities . . . but it also means a lot of new expenses. I don’t even want to think about what heating bills will be like in the winter!

We are looking at 2 bedroom apartments in northern Chicago – does anyone have any advice or comments about the area or about good prices for rent, etc? How much do utility bills run in Chicago?

I have enough money in savings to last me a solid six months or more, but I would really like to find a job within the first month or two! As fun as it would be to have the last month or so of summer to explore the city while the weather is nice, I know that I wouldn’t fully enjoy it since I would be worrying about money.

Please leave comments or suggestions for me, I need to know what kinds of things I should be thinking about or researching for this move!

 

Leave a Reply

