girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Summer! May 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 9:47 am

I have decided to stay here and work next year, and put off starting a PhD program until Fall of 2011. This week was finals week, so I am finished with all of the coursework for my MA! I still have to complete my thesis over the summer, but the classroom portion is finished. I’ve had a crazy, crazy semester, but I did manage a 4.0 – sorry that the blog wasn’t much of a priority during this time, but school had to come first. (I also had no life.)

I told myself that I was going to take a week or so off before I start working on anything this summer but . . . I should know me better than that. :) Yesterday I worked at a baseball game, and today I’m subbing for the secretary at a place where I volunteer in town. Tomorrow I’m working at baseball again. I think I’m going to stick to these temporary summer jobs, at least until I figure out whether I will be teaching full-time this fall. If I’m going to teach full-time, there is no reason to get a full-time job over the summer that I will have to quit in August.

So, now I’m trying to figure out my summer goals. Obviously, working on and finishing my thesis is pretty high up on that list. I’d like to make at least enough money to cover my living expenses for the summer. I think I’m going to start tracking my expenses again, also. I haven’t closely tracked my expenses in about a year, since Wesabe switched to their new format. (I didn’t like the new format, so I stopped using Wesabe.) I don’t spend a lot of money, but I miss having a budget.

 

Leave a Reply

