girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Life Hacks March 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 7:30 pm

I have spent way, way too much time today reading Lifehack.org. I’ve glanced around the site occasionally before, or been linked to a blog article here and there, but never spent a significant amount of time browsing. Wow, I think I’m in love. Even though half or less of the articles apply to me, I bookmarked three just in the time I was looking around. So much great information! Personal responsibility is a BIG thing for me, and lately I’ve had some encounters with people who choose not to accept responsibility for their actions. Blaming things on work or other people’s actions. Saying they can do something because they feel bad saying “no,” but they’re incapable of actually following through. [Mostly I don’t think they’re intentionally being deceptive/dishonest, I think they lie to themselves and say what they’ve convinced themselves of.] One theme I saw running through the Lifehack articles was being in control of your life, creating your “destiny,” accepting responsibility. Evaluating your attitudes, your beliefs, your views, and determining what is holding you back from the things you want. What you need to do to get where you want to be. These have been big topics on my mind lately, and its nice to see a blog that preaches it.

 

Leave a Reply

