girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Cooking At Home September 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 9:29 am

In the past few months I’ve been cooking at home a lot – I’m so glad to have a real kitchen again! I’ve been stocking up on “staples” and learning how to make real food (sort of). I’m not sure yet how much (if anything) it’s saving me dollar-wise, but sanity-wise it’s saving me quite a bit! I know many people go through a drive-thru because they come home from a long day at work and don’t want to worry about doing anything. Well for me, I come home from a long day on campus (between the grad assistantship hours and classes I’ve been on campus nearly 50 hours per week) and want something to do to take my mine off of work and class before I start doing more work! Cooking dinner most nights has given me a chance to relax and unwind for an hour or so after work each day before I start reading textbooks or articles for a few more hours.

The reason I’m not sure if I’m saving money dollar-wise is two-fold. First, when I go through a drive-thru, I rarely spend more than $3 on a meal. I don’t eat a lot of food at once, and I don’t like fast food enough to order extravagantly. I also don’t drink soda, so I pass on the “value meals” that actually have way more food than I could eat for twice what I normally pay. Most meals, particularly if they include meat, cost more than $3 to make. Some things I can eat over the course of a few days, but other things cost more than $3 for one serving. The other reason is that I often share what I make with other people. As I mentioned, I don’t eat a lot at one time, so if I make a casserole or other dish, it will last me at least a few days. However, I often invite other people over or share with my roommate, because I do actually enjoy being social on occasion. I’ve discovered that when I share with a guy, it’s almost inevitable that he will finish whatever I don’t take. Once, I put part of a casserole in a container before dinner, to make sure I had left-overs for lunch the next day!

Does anyone have any recipes they recommend? Or cooking secrets/tips? This is all still pretty new to me, so any links or advice would be greatly appreciated!

 

One Response to “Cooking At Home”

  1. Bradd Says:

    I’m no expert to be giving advice but I think I’m fairly healthy in how I do things even tho I’m a guy. When I was in college I used to do the cheapest thing which was basically soup. Not a real big fan of ramen unless it’s Japanese ramen. Since graduating I used to cook meals for dinner but came to the conclusion that breakfast is the easiest and cheapest to make things for and a good breakfast does help control how much you eat as does sugar intake. I usually drink just water but have tea now and then. I like a bowl of oatmeal with apple slices and walnuts mixed in or oatmeal pancakes or cream of wheat or make my own egg mcmuffin. Lunch is social time so I typically buy. Dinner is more of a snack time of salad or yogurt or quesadillas or fruits and nuts or even soup. I thought I read in a health article once that snacking thru dinner was actually a healthy life style. If I’m interested in an actual meal I find it easy to throw some seasoning on chicken, steak, or fish and use a small george forman grill. Throw some sliced peppers and onions on there while I’m at it.


Leave a Reply

