girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Life July 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 11:03 am

Money hasn’t been very fun for me to think about lately, but here’s what’s going on with me right now:

-I’ve been working a lot, and when I’m not working I’ve been out of town with no internet access
-My car has been in the shop for nearly 3 weeks; the repair it needs will be about $2,000. I’m going to go ahead and get the repair done, but I won’t have my car for another week (at least). Previously another shop estimated $3,000, so I was debating just getting a new car. I decided to tow it to another place for a second opinion first, and that’s why I’ve been without a car for so long.
-I just found out that I need to buy a laptop within the next week.
-My lease is up at the end of this month, and since I haven’t had a car, looking for new places to live has been more than a little difficult. I do have a couple of potential options, but I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do. No matter what I do, it’s going to cost money, obviously.

The bad news is that my net worth fell last month, for the first time since November of last year. The good news is it didn’t fall by nearly as much as I thought, since I didn’t include my car in it (as it wasn’t working and I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it) but I do/will still have my car. So the other bad news is that it’s going to fall quite a bit again this month, once all of the above is paid for.

I recently signed the paperwork for student loans for the year, though, so in a few weeks I’ll have $10,000 and in the spring another $10,000. I don’t plan on needing much of the money, but I decided I’d rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it.

Any thoughts or suggestions on any of this?

 

One Response to “Life”

  1. Gotta take it all in stride.

    Life gives you lumps.. can’t always be a smooth ride.

    Take each action item one by one.. and start saving for that $2000 repair, the laptop and working out a plan to minimize the damage.


Leave a Reply

