girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Summer Plans June 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 11:55 am

This week I signed paperwork for the graduate assistant position, so it’s now official. Finding out about student loans may take a little while, though.

The bartending job has been going well. I’m not making a lot of money at it, because it’s been cool outside and raining a lot lately, so the games aren’t really busy. However, the money I do make working there is more than I would make it I were sitting around doing nothing, so I’m happy with it! Also, I have quite a bit of free time when the team is out of town, so I’ll be able to take the trips I’ve been planning for this summer. I don’t think any other job would want to allow me the flexibility that I have with the bartending schedule.

Later this month I will be in Anaheim for 5 days for a work trip. Yes, technically I no longer work at my old job, but this trip was already planned. Airfare, hotel, and meals will be paid for by work. I’m chaperoning three students, and they have talked about going to the beach and doing tourist-y things while we are there, so I may be spending some of my personal money on things like that. Hopefully not Disney, though, I really don’t want to spend a day there.

Next month I’ll be heading down to the Gulf Coast for about four days with an aunt and two of my female cousins. My aunt is making all of the plans, I don’t even know where along the Gulf she wants to go. I have no clue how much this trip will cost me, because I don’t know what all I will be expected to pay for while there (or what she’ll allow me to reimburse her for afterward).

In August, I’m planning a trip to the lake with friends in Missouri. A friend and I are splitting the cost, then everyone can pay us back later. We found a nice rental house on the lake with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms that runs $900 for four nights. I’ve set aside $600 for the trip. If enough people show up, we could possibly end up breaking even or making money off of being the ones to actually make the plans and reservations. I doubt that will happen, but it would be really cool if it did!

 

One Response to “Summer Plans”

  1. Naboonga Says:

    Hey I came to your website from wesabe. I was in a similar situation to yours a few years back and went back to grad school for a masters in economics. Made a huge difference for me, not just in pay, but the quality of intellectual work. My advice would be to focus completely on grad school rather than skimping on the experience by working additional jobs and things. Borrow if you must and think in terms of your permanent income a la Friedman.


Leave a Reply

