girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Living Situation May 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 12:37 pm

Since I’ve (more officially? but still no paperwork…) received the GA position for the fall, I went ahead and put in my notice at work this week. So now my dilemma is: finding a place to live for the next 14 months!

One of the girls I work with is looking to sub-lease her apartment for part of the summer, since she’ll be gone for about 6 or 7 weeks. She has 2 roommates, and said that bills (total) are about $400 per month per person. Sounds good to me! I need to move out by 01 June, but she won’t need to leave for the summer until mid-June. I told her I don’t mind to crash on the couch for a couple weeks if she wants to split bills for the month. So I think my summer housing is figured out, and will run me around $600 total for June and July, which is very exciting! Now I don’t have to find a place for next year until late July!

Since I’m working the bartending job, I’ll be in town all summer. I think that by July I’ll have a much better idea of where I want to live next year – I’m still pretty unfamiliar with this town right now. And if living expenses will only be ~$400 per month, the bartending job should cover that. However, I’m not so sure about paying for hanging out with friends, going to the lake, and other trips I want to take this summer!

 

Leave a Reply

