girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Cancelling/Downgrading Subscriptions February 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 9:32 am

About a month ago I had reason to stay in a hotel overnight, and I signed up for the hotel’s membership rewards plan so I could get some $30 reward thing. They have a free 30-day trial period, and then charge you $12 per month for access to all of their (awesome, I’m sure) membership privileges. I don’t really have occasion to stay in hotels particularly often, and in the short term I won’t travel as much as I’d like since I’m saving up money for Chicago/grad school/whatever I do next. When I received an email about how to claim my $30 reward, it included links to forms you have to fill out and mail in, plus you need to include copies of your receipt, AND the $30 comes in the form of a gift certificate to the hotel restaurant. That’s too much work for a gift certificate I’ll probably never use (I don’t go out to eat much and am not sure I’ve EVER eaten in a hotel restaurant). I learned this a couple of weeks ago, and this morning I finally got around to calling and canceling before my free trial ends.

Since I was getting rid of stuff anyway, I decided to go ahead and downgrade my Netflix subscription. For almost a year I’ve been paying $13.99 per month for the “2 at-a-time (Unlimited)” plan, but as of 05 March I will be paying $4.99 per month for the “1 at-a-time (2 a month)” plan. I’ll write more about it soon.

 

One Response to “Cancelling/Downgrading Subscriptions”

  1. Josh Wong Says:

    Ugh. I was *supposed* to do the same thing with my wireless plan. Drop it from 4mb to 2mb and save about $10. (I even tracked my usage for a month to see where I could cut down).

    Turns out my old 4mb plan doesn’t exist anymore and for the same price I can get 500mb (not a typo… 125x more). Interesting how I had to ASK for it (whereas they were just over-billing me for additional usage over 4mb!)

    So… Uh… Keeping the plan and blogging from my BlackBerry with photos now o_O – not exactly saving any more or less…


Leave a Reply

