girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

December Goals Update December 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 3:20 pm

Update on December Goals:
Here I made a list of financial goals for December and here’s what I’ve achieved so far:
*I have contributed $650 to my savings in December, going a little beyond my $500 goal
*I plan to use this week to research building this blog and plan to have a site I can sell advertising on by the end of the month
*I’ve set myself a budget, and so far I’m sticking to it! I have quite a few friends graduating from college this coming weekend though, it might be difficult to stick to my budget over the weekend.
*I have an appointment to meet with my financial advisor tomorrow morning to increase my monthly Roth IRA contributions and discuss the best way to contribute the extra $1000 (a lump-sum contribution or a few smaller monthly contributions)

Update on 6-month goals:
My total savings toward my $4000 goal is $850 in the past month. Since I had money left over from the No Spend Month in November, I was able to contribute a little from my last check than I had expected. I am on track to hit my goal if I save $350 from each check until the end of April. This is a pretty substantial portion of my check, but I think it is do-able (especially if I join in on the future No Spend Months currently being planned!)

On a related note, I gave myself a $200 budget for holiday gifts and have spent $78.74 so far. I think I will be able to finish my gift shopping on budget.

Also achieved this month: I closed out a small checking account that I don’t use, and have transferred the majority of my money into an Orange Account at ING and an Electric Orange checking account. Now I only have a few hundred dollars (in case of emergency) in traditional checking and savings accounts with minimal or no interest.

 

3 Responses to “December Goals Update”

  1. Kelly Whalen Says:

    Wow! You are doing amazing! Way to go.
    I’d love to hear how you spent your holiday budget, but I’m sure it may have to wait until after the holiday in case your readers included family or friends. ;)

  2. Beth Says:

    Looks like you are making great progress on meeting your goals!

  3. girlnextdoorfinance Says:

    @Kelly – I’ll put an update up after the holidays! :)


Leave a Reply

