girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

Replacing Old, Expensive Habits With New, Cheaper Hobbies December 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 1:53 pm
Tags:

I’ve had acrylic nails off and on since I was 16 years old, and nearly continuously for the past 4 years. I’ve always had weak fingernails, so they tear off easily, especially if I put nail polish on them. I rarely buy myself new clothes, and I don’t drink coffee, so I figured that this would “even out,” being the unnecessary treat that I give myself. For the past year, I’ve also been getting pedicures when I get my nails done. A trip to the nail salon (once every 2 to 3 weeks) would cost a total of $55 – $60 to get my nails filled, a pedicure, and a tip. I was spending approximately $100 per month on my nails.

At the end of October, I took off my nails and intended to get a new set put on in November. However, I decided to participate in the No Spend Month with other Wesabeans, so I decided to put off getting my nails done until December. Well, it is now December 10 and I “haven’t found time” to get my nails done. I say “haven’t found time” because I think we would all agree that if someone wants to do something badly enough, they will find the time to do it!

Yesterday I remembered that my brother has a bass guitar that he wanted in high school. To my knowledge, he hasn’t actually picked it up in years. I’ve always been vaguely interested in learning guitar or bass, but never had the time – plus, acrylic nails are not compatible with many instruments! Well, I decided to ask my brother if I could get his bass out of storage while I’m home for the holidays. He told me that I’m welcome to it, but that our baby brother (age 13) may have already laid claim to it. Since baby brother has both an acoustic and an electric guitar of his own (he started taking lessons about a year ago), I think I’ll be able to get the bass away from him for at least a few months.

So, I think I may hold off for a while longer on getting my nails done, and take up a new hobby that will make it worthwhile (and even required) to not be spending money on getting my nails done. This new hobby, since my brother already has the equipment, shouldn’t cost me anything out of pocket.

What accidental things have you discovered or remembered that saved you money? What inexpensive hobbies do you have? Do you have any hobbies that save you money, in that they keep you from spending money on other things?

 

3 Responses to “Replacing Old, Expensive Habits With New, Cheaper Hobbies”

  1. KarinsBuckaroo Says:

    Reading library books or buying them for a cheap price on the internet instead of getting the brand new. This was a big change because I like to read a lot. I have a “wish list” on a used book and it notifies me when someone offers it for a price I’ve pre-set. While you can set it to pre-order it when it finds the book at your price, I like the email notice so I can decide if I still want the book.

  2. girlnextdoorfinance Says:

    @KarinsBuckaroo – That sounds awesome! What site is that through? I spend a TON of money on books, I need to set up something like that!

  3. Beth Says:

    I recently re-discovered the library…definitely one of the most cost effective methods of entertainment out there.


Leave a Reply

