girlnextdoor

financial discussions with the girl next door

My net worth is finally positive again! November 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — girlnextdoorfinance @ 10:32 pm

I’ve been using Networth IQ to track my net worth for a couple of years now. For the past 6 months or so my net worth has been low and for the past two months its even been negative. Taking out loans for grad school has killed me! But I’ve finally made headway toward re-establishing myself. I have now had 4 paychecks at my job, which has allowed me to get established here and start paying down student loans. I’ve bought a new bed and paid for pretty much all of the apartment things I need, so those initial expenses are out of the way – which means more money for savings and repaying student loans now!

I took out about $21,000 in student loans, and right now my total owed stands at $19801. The payments I have made to this point have mostly covered the interest that has accrued. Right now I’m really torn on how much I want to put toward student loans each month – I really want to get rid of them as quickly as possible, but I also want to focus on maxing out my Roth IRA for this year and building up my emergency fund. I still haven’t done a good job of tracking my day to day spending, but I have actually been saving all of my receipts so that’s a step in the right direction, right?

 

One Response to “My net worth is finally positive again!”

  1. Congrats on the + net worth!

    The worst thing about saving all your receipts is having to enter them ALL IN at the end of the week/month. Torture. :)

    That is my only motivation to do receipt-entering ASAP.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.